Elections to the Rajya Sabha: BJP Selects RPN Singh and Sudhanshu Trivedi Among 14 Kandidatas for Polls on February 27

Rajya Sabha Elections: West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Karnataka, and the BJP declared their candidacies. Among the notable individuals are Subhash Barala, RPN Singh, and Sudhanshu Trivedi.

For the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) declared its candidates on Sunday from the following states: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal. While the party announced Subhash Barala as its candidate in Haryana, Sudhanshu Trivedi and RPN Singh were the nominees from Uttar Pradesh.

BJP Insulted Lord Ram By Saying Party 'Brought' Him: Akhilesh Yadav

Raja Devendra Pratap Singh in Chhattisgarh, Dharmsheela Gupta and Bhim Singh in Bihar, Narayana Krishanasa Bhandage in Karnataka, Mahendra Bhatt in Uttarakhand, and Samik Bhattacharya in West Bengal are the candidates nominated by the BJP.

The party has Sadhna Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangita Balwant, and Navin Jain as its candidates in Uttar Pradesh.

TMC Announces Candidates For February 27 Rajya Sabha Elections

BJP releases candidate list for Rajya Sabha election | Latest News India -  Hindustan Times

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) unveiled its West Bengal candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections earlier in the day. The TMC has announced its nominations, who include journalist Sagarika Ghose, party leader Sushmita Dev, Md. Nadimul Haque, and Mamata Bala Thakur. As it wished the candidates well, the party said, “We extend our heartfelt wishes to them, and may they work towards upholding Trinamool’s enduring legacy of indomitable spirit and advocacy for the rights of every Indian.”

Notably, a lot of attention has been focused on Mamata Bala Thakur’s nomination. In the Matua-dominated Bongaon constituency, Thakur, a well-known Matua leader and former Lok Sabha MP, is running against his relative, Shantanu Thakur, of the BJP. Her nomination comes amid the BJP’s attempts to win over the Matua community in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections by making promises on the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA).

ECI Announcement On Rajya Sabha Election 2024

The calendar for the Rajya Sabha elections, which will take place across 15 states and 56 seats, was announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) last month. The purpose of the February 27 polling for these seats is to fill the vacancies left by members who will retire in April 2024.

The press release from the commission states that on April 2, 2024, the state of Uttar Pradesh would see the retirement of the greatest number of its members—ten in all. Likewise, six members of Maharashtra and Bihar will retire on the same day. Five members apiece from West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh are scheduled to retire on April 2, 2024. On the same day, four members will retire from each of the states of Gujarat and Karnataka.

In addition, three members of the legislatures of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha, and Rajasthan will retire; their retirement dates fall in early April 2024. In addition, on April 2, 2024, one member from each of the states of Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttarakhand is anticipated to retire.

Political parties are preparing for an important battleground in the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections as they compete for a strong representation in the Parliament’s upper house.

Leave a Comment